Government and politics


Politics of Mongolia takes place in a framework of a semi-presidential democratic republic, and of a multi- party system. Executive power is exercised by the government. Legislative power is vested in both the goverment and parliament. The Judiciary is independent of the executive and the legislature.


Mongolia's president has a largely symbolic role, but can block the parliament's decisions, who can then overrule the veto by a 2/3 majority. Mongolia's Constitution provides three requirements for taking office as President: the individual must be a native-born Mongolian, be at least 45 years of age, and have resided in Mongolia for five years prior to taking office. The former prime minister Elbegdorj Tsakhia was  Elbegdorj was first elected President of Mongolia in 2009 and is currently serving his second term in office. He previously served two terms as Prime Minister of Mongolia, as Vice Speaker of the Parliament of Mongolia, as Majority Leader of the Parliament from 1996–2000, and as a Member of Parliament for four terms.

Elbegdorj Tsakhia
President of Mongolian


The State Great Khural
Zandaakhuugiin Enkhbold is the chairman or speaker of the State Great Khural. He was educated at Ural State Universtity in Russia as an electrical engineer with a concentration on automation and telemetry from 1984 to 1989. Later, he earned a diploma of law from the Narional University of Mongolia  in 1996 and graduated with an IMBA from the University of Denver in 2004.

Enkhbold Zandaakhuu
Chairman of Mongolian parliament


Prime Minister and the Cabinet
Norovyn Altankhuyag politician who has been the Prime Minister of Mongolia since 2012 and a Member of Parliament. Democratic Party's National Consultative Committee (NCC) elected him as the Leader of Democratic Party of Mongolia in 2008. He worked as the First Deputy Prime Minister of Mongolia in the coalition government of the Mongolian People's Party and Democratic Party of Mongolia in 2008-2012. Previously, he served as the Minister of Agriculture and Industry in 1996-2000 and the Minister of Finance in 2004-2006.

The cabinet is nominated by the prime minister in consultation with the president and confirmed by the State Great Khural.

Altankhuyag Norov
Prime Minister of Mongolia